2013: A Year in Review

And so ends 2013. The end of the year is a time to reflect on the previous 12 months and to look ahead at the next. Since 2009, I’ve kept track of every movie I’ve watched, just for fun. It’s been interesting to see patterns, highs and lows, and just what was interesting me that given year. So, let’s take a quick look back at the number of movies watched (in a theater, on DVD, Apple TV, etc.) through today, December 30, as well as what I enjoyed and what I’d prefer to forget.

Action: 14
Animated: 12
Comedy: 35 (not nearly enough classic comedy this year)
Concert: 1
Documentary: 7
Drama: 7
Sci-Fi/Fantasy: 172
Suspense/Thriller: 10
Western: 3 (not enough)
Total: 261 (same as 2011, less than 2012 but I watched all of The Three Stooges last year so that number was a bit inflated)

Total numbers of movies watched in a movie theater: 36 (2 more than 2012, 2 less than 2011)

And now for my favorites and least favorites of 2013. Some of you will agree, others may just shake your head. What can I say, some of my favorites are guilty pleasures and subjective to my mood at the time.

Top 10 Movies I Watched in a Movie Theater:
Django1. Django Unchained – amazing, it had me at the opening theme song
2. Gravity
– sure, it has some scientific flaws but non-stop thrilling
3. Thor: The Dark World
– solid follow-up, perhaps my favorite character of the Avengers universe
4. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
– just as good, if not better, than the first
5. The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug
– no explanations needed, I really enjoy Middle Earth
6. Oblivion
– I can still differentiate between Tom Cruise the actor and the real person, but it’s getting tough
7. The Conjuring
– cliché but well-filmed and entertaining
8. Star Trek Into Darkness
– not my Trek but I find enjoyment in this version
9. World War Z
– I never read the book so I didn’t have that to compare it to
10. Last Vegas
– older generation meets the Hangover crowd
Honorable Mentions: Elysium and The Wolverine
Good Bad Ugly

Top 10 Movies I Watched on DVD For The First Time:
1. The Good, The Bad and the Ugly (1966)
– yes, this was my first time watching it from beginning to end, I had already seen 99% of it in bits and pieces over the years
2. AM 1200 (2008) – I finally tracked this short film down, well worth it
3. Onibaba (1964) – atmospheric and stunning
4. The Devil’s Backbone (2001) – one of Guillermo del Toro’s best, not sure why it took me this long
5. Solomon Kane (2009) – why this one doesn’t get more love is beyond me
6. Dredd (2012) – non-stop craziness worked for me
7. Despicable Me (2010) – took me long enough to see the Minions
8. The Fountain (2006) – better than it gets credit for
9. Godzilla, Mothra and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack (2001) – my favorite of modern day Godzilla flicks
10. The Night Walker (1964) –soundtrack, atmosphere and Barbara Stanwyck enhanced this one

And now for the worst of the year. Thankfully, this was a very short list. Needless to say, I was a lot pickier about what I chose to watch in 2013.

Worst Movie I Watched in a Movie Theater:
1. A Haunted House
– my kids wanted to see this so I went with them, ‘nuff said

Worst Movies I Watched on DVD For The First Time:
1. Grave Encounters 2 (2012) – horrible and irritating, so derivative of the first
2. Curucu, Beast of the Amazon (1956) – was misled as to what it was about, not impressed at all

GravitySome of my random accomplishments this year included watching a slew of Dr. Jekyll and Hr. Hyde adaptations in March, finishing the Godzilla series and revisiting all of the Superman franchise. Sadly, plans to watch Alfred Hitchcock never happened but that will be corrected. I did get started on the Our Gang series as well as revisiting Laurel and Hardy but I didn’t get very far. That too will change in 2014. Come back tomorrow as I talk about my film goals for 2014 and the future of the Monster Movie Kid blog.

Leave a Reply

