Monster Movie Kid Headed To Print and the Free State Comicon

It’s hard to believe but this blog is almost two years old. Back in October 2012, I launched this site as a way to ramble on about movies and the occasional thought on comics or TV. However, my first two articles actually appeared somewhere else, the B Movie Man website. This site is ran by Nic Brown, author of the Werewolf for Hire series and co-host of the B Movie Cast. His generosity inspired me to write more. Now, more than two years later, these articles are being revived in print.Free State Comicon

Several years ago, I made the acquaintance of Joel Sanderson, better known to some as Gunther Dedmund, the host of The Basement Sublet of Horror, broadcast in Lawrence, KS and around the world via the internet. He was the man behind my first article on the long-lost but not forgotten flick, The Beast from the Beginning of Time. Several months ago, he reached out to me as he was interested in printing these articles, along with another I wrote about the Joyland amusement park in Wichita. He is starting up a new horror magazine called The Basement Sublet of Horror, inspired by his TV show. The first two issues will be let loose upon the monster community on October 25 at the Free State Comicon in Lawrence, KS. And readers, want to know the cool part? Yours truly has been invited to be a guest.

GuntherI’m honored that Joel worked some magic to have me there. I am just someone with a blog rambling on about movies and such. But it is this passion about what we do that makes me love the community we all reside in. To the left is Monster Boulevard and to the right is Comic Book Court. Straight ahead is Writer’s Row and over there is Flicker Alley. And in the center is the town square where all roads merge and we have opportunities to spend time together at events like Free State Comicon. If you happen to be in the Lawrence area on October 25, you now know where you gotta be!

Take the time to check out Joel’s site. Besides the upcoming first two issues of The Basement Sublet of Horror magazine, he is also ready to unveil the second issue of a great old school horror comic. And yes, there is already work on upcoming issues of the magazine in which I will be a part.Karloff

Thanks everyone for taking the time to check out this site and hanging with me while I took some time off this past spring and summer. Now that I am in Kansas City, I’m at the center of a lot of cool things. As I continue to get settled in, there are so many theaters waiting for me to explore and cool events just luring me in. I’ve got some great reviews lined up for September and yes, the 3rd Annual 31 Days of Halloween is less than a month away!

Leave a Reply

