October Was Full of Super-Heroes, Robots and Mr. Hyde

Free State Comicon PosterHalloween is over and the month of October was a busy one. With my tribute to Bela Lugosi finished, it’s time to reflect on some cool events and highlight some talented friends.

10th Annual Free State Comicon
This was my second year attending as a guest and without a doubt, Craig Klotz knows how to put on a great show! From a fantastic selection of vendors to the incredibly talented artist alley, there was no excuse for anyone to leave without something in their hand and having a good time. I saw some familiar faces and met some new ones. So, as the horror classics always say, a good cast is worth repeating. Check out just a few of the great people there and prepare to expand your horizons!

Steve Lightle
I was lucky to be seated next to the incredibly talented Steve Lightle. From his great art work at DC Comics on Legion of Super-Heroes to his amazing new work today, you’ll be blown away. Take the time to support his new online series, Justin Zane. I recommend the series and I’m anxiously waiting for more. And if you are in the Kansas City area and want to know more about the legendary Whizzo The Clown, he’s your man!

CW Cooke
I met CW Cooke at last year’s Comicon and just about every other cool event in the last year. If you haven’t read Solitary from Devil’s Due Entertainment, crawl out from under your rock and check it out. He’s got some great stuff brewing right now, so go to his Facebook page, CW Cooke Comix, and tell him Monster Movie Kid sent you.Robot Pulp

Ed Bickford
I met Ed back in May on Free Comic Book Day at Elite Comics. I fell in love with his old school Robot Pulp artwork and I think any good monster kid will as well.  Check him out on Facebook and I know you’ll want to add a print to your collection. I have one myself just waiting for a frame. I already have a spot reserved on my office wall.

HydeDr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
And just as October started off with a bang, it ended on a high note. For the second year in a row, I attended the Screenland at the Symphony event at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts in downtown Kansas City. Organist Dorothy Papadakos was present once again with her own original score. This year, it was the silent horror classic, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1920). To say this was a fantastic evening would be a tremendous understatement. The passion and talent she displays greatly enhances these cinematic masterpieces. I can’t even describe the amazing sounds she created for the transformation sequence. I’m ready to buy my ticket for 2016!

And while I wasn’t able to attend the latest Cinema a Go-Go event from The Retro Cocktail Hour, I did take the time to support Kansas Public Radio during their pledge drive. If you still haven’t listened to this great show, what are you waiting for? They are on several radio stations outside of Kansas and all of their shows are available for streaming or download.

Leave a Reply

